Skip to main content

Saint Louis University College of Arts and Sciences Header Logo Center

Menu Search & Directory

African American Studies Faculty

Faculty in Saint Louis University's African American Studies Program draw expertise from a variety of academic disciplines, including the arts, English and communication, history, political science and psychology.

  • Christopher Tinson, Ph.D.
    Director of African American Studies
    Joint appointment in African American Studies and Department of History
  • Olubukola Gbadegesin, Ph.D.
    Joint appointment in African American Studies and Department of Fine and Performing Arts
  • Leonard McKinnis, Ph.D.
    Joint appointment in African American Studies and the Department of Theological Studies
  • Jonathan Smith, Ph.D.
    African American Studies and Vice President for Diversity and Community Engagement   
  • Katrina Thompson, Ph.D.
    Joint appointment in African American Studies and Department of History

Cross-listed Courses Faculty

* Indicates member of African American Studies Advisory Committee


  • Institutional member of the National Council of Black Studies, Inc. (NCBS)
  • Institutional member of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH).

Ernest A. Calloway Teaching Award

Each year, the Society of African American Studies awards the Ernest A. Calloway Teaching Award to a University faculty member whose efforts in the classroom reflected Calloway's commitment to social justice, diversity and inclusion.

The award, named for a late Saint Louis University professor, was established by Saint Louis University alumnus Brian Shelton. The award is given annually during Sankofa, the African American graduate recognition ceremony held during pre-commencement activities.

Previous Calloway Award Winners

  • 2014: Jonathan Smith, Ph.D.
  • 2013: Karla Scott, Ph.D.
  • 2012: Stefan Bradley, Ph.D.

Karla Scott Award

The Karla Scott Award is for the graduating senior with the highest GPA among African American Studies majors. 

The 2019 winner of this award was Taylor R. Robinson.